

PRESS RELEASE

The La Valletta Technical Committee met for the fourth time in Lisbon

On the 4th May Minister Adalberto Campos Fernandes hosted the fourth Valletta Technical Committee (VTC)* meeting at INFARMED – Portuguese National Authority of Medicines and Health Products.

During the meeting, Croatia signed the Valletta Declaration and became the 10th country to join this regional cooperation scheme.

The Portuguese Minister, Adalberto Campos Fernandes hosted a ministerial session attended by the Spanish Health and Social Services Minister, Dolors Montserrat, the Greek Health Minister, Andreas Xanthos, the Romenian Secretary of State, Octavian Alexandrescu, and also the Croatian Secretary of State, Željko Plazonić. Ministers expressed their strong engagement to strengthen this cooperation.

The ten countries that participated in the VTC meeting today discussed a number of topics of common interest and agreed to:

- Continue the work on candidate products for joint assessment and negotiation;
- Explore new areas of activity such as negotiation on products already assessed;
- Reinforce the exchange of information on areas of common interest, such as biosimilars;
- Analyse therapeutic areas of growing expenditure such as the i-DPP-4 (oral antidiabetics) and oral anticoagulants.

The Valletta Declaration now covers 160 million citizens, representing 32% of the total EU population. The VTC member countries stated their strong political will to shape future work, to increase effectiveness, as well as to pursue their cooperation in full trust, loyalty and solidarity.

The next VTC meeting is scheduled for July in Athens (Greece).

4.5.2018

^{*}The VTC is chaired by Paola Testori Coggi, from Italy, vice-chaired by Rui Santos Ivo from Portugal and Patricia Vella Bonanno from Malta holds the secretariat. The members are Croatia, Cyprus, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Malta, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia and Spain. France and the European Commission participated as observers.

PRESS RELEASE

